What If I Am Hit by an Uninsured Driver in Texas?
Being in a car accident is upsetting, but being hit by an uninsured driver in Texas can be even more stressful. Who will pay your medical bills and lost wages? What about fixing your car?
If an uninsured driver hits you in Texas, remember several things detailed below. You’ll also want to contact the Pflugerville car accident lawyers at Pastrana & Garcia if you have additional questions.
Uninsured Driver Insurance Coverage in Texas
Car insurance companies in Texas are required to offer uninsured and underinsured driver coverage. This coverage protects you if the other vehicle’s driver does not have insurance. You can turn down the coverage in writing; however, this is not recommended because one never knows who has insurance and who doesn’t.
Some important considerations with uninsured coverage:
- The minimum required auto insurance in Texas is $30,000 in liability for each injured party, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. You may need additional uninsured driver coverage if you have extensive injuries and an expensive vehicle.
- Your healthcare plan may cover some of your injuries if the other driver is not insured. However, if you have severe, long-term injuries, health insurance won’t help. Uninsured coverage is critical.
- You never know when the other driver is not insured, so you should always carry plenty of coverage.
You should talk to your insurance agent about how much uninsured and underinsured coverage you need. Note that insurance companies in Texas are required to offer personal injury protection (PIP) coverage of $2,500, but you can decline that in writing, too. This coverage pays for your injuries regardless of fault.
Process the Claim Through Your Insurance Company
You will process your accident claim through your auto insurance provider if you have uninsured driver coverage. When you report the accident to your auto insurance, tell them the other driver was uninsured or it was a hit-and-run.
Sometimes, you are responsible for paying the deductible even if you have uninsured driver coverage. Further, you will only receive compensation for your losses up to the policy limits.
The Importance of Uninsured Driver Coverage
Is it worth the risk to decline uninsured driver coverage to save a few dollars per month? No, so make sure you elect that coverage when signing up for auto insurance.
Hit by an Uninsured Driver? Call a Central Texas Car Accident Lawyer
If an uninsured driver hits you when you’re driving in the Central Texas area, whether it’s in Round Rock, Bastrop, Pflugerville, or the surrounding areas, you need an experienced attorney to protect your rights. You could be entitled to compensation for your injuries and losses. Contact Pastrana & Garcia Injury Law for a free consultation today.