By: Pastrana & Garcia Injury Law, Published: December 11 2023

Common Mistakes to Avoid After a Car Accident: Protecting Your Claim

pflugerville car accident lawyer

    How Can We Help You?

    One of our advisers will contact you.

    The aftermath of a car accident can leave a whirlwind of issues. Medical bills from injuries or fatalities and property damage can quickly add up.

    Insurance policies are meant to alleviate some financial stress, but interacting with insurance companies can sometimes be as frustrating as the accident itself. Here are a few answers about dealing with insurance companies when you’ve been in a car accident in Texas.

    How Does Car Insurance Work in Texas?

    Car insurance in Texas protects you so that you don’t have to pay all damages or medical bills out of your pocket after an accident. There is a minimum amount of coverage you just carry on your vehicle in Texas to be allowed to drive legally.

    • You must have liability coverage of at least $30,000 (up to $60,000 per accident).
    • You must have property damage coverage of $25,000 per accident.

    Minimum insurance coverage often costs nearly $600 per year, while the average insurance cost in Texas is over $2,000. While these numbers can be intimidating, buying more than the minimum state-required insurance can lead to better security, especially if the other driver who was responsible for the accident is uninsured or underinsured.

    Even though car insurance is mandatory, not every driver carries insurance—or carries enough of it. Depending on how much liability insurance a person purchases, their insurance may not cover the full extent of the damages in the accident they caused. When this happens, your insurance may help to cover some of the damages. It can also be a good idea to purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage so that your insurance can help you in these situations.

    Auto Insurance Concerns Right After a Car Accident in Texas

    If you’ve been involved in a car accident in Texas, you must report your accident to your insurance company. First, however, we recommend taking the following steps after an accident:

    • Call 911.
    • Exchange information with the other driver: their name, address, contact info, and insurance information.
    • File a police report; this can help when filing a claim with your insurance company.
    • Ask for bystander and witness statements.
    • Record everything you can, either in writing or by taking pictures or videos of the accident.
    • If you didn’t receive medical attention at the scene of the accident, get to a hospital. The longer you delay medical attention, the easier it is for an insurance company to claim that your injuries weren’t a result of the accident.
    • Contact your insurance company to report the accident — only give them the facts, and don’t admit any responsibility for the accident.

    As soon as possible, contact the Pflugerville car accident lawyers at Pastrana & García Injury Law so we can deal directly with the insurance companies. It’s possible that another driver might try to sue you, even if they were at fault. Give your claim an extra layer of protection with the help of our experienced legal firm.

    What Should I Do if the Other Driver’s Insurance Company Tries to Contact Me?

    If the other driver’s insurance company attempts to contact you after an accident, do not answer their questions. The other driver’s insurance may attempt to get you to admit fault in the accident.

    Because Texas is an at-fault, or comparative negligence, state, the compensation you receive depends on the percentage of fault you are responsible for. If the opposing insurance company calls you, simply inform them that you have hired a lawyer and direct them to call us, Pastrana & García Injury Law. That’s all the information they’ll need — we’ll handle the rest.

    Can Insurance Companies Act in Bad Faith?

    Insurance companies work in their own best interest. It’s not uncommon to see them ask questions that will make you reconsider your statement, take their time processing your claim, attempt to undercut the compensation that you should be receiving, or even deny your claim for no valid reason. You can file a complaint with the Texas Department of Insurance if your insurance company acts in bad faith.

    Additionally, the lawyers at Pastrana & García Injury Law can advocate for you during this difficult time. We will negotiate in your best interest, and make sure that the offer is acceptable in relation to the damages you sustained in the accident.

    Contact Pastrana & García Injury Law

    Dealing with a car accident can be stressful. Let professionals take care of your claim. We’ve been handling personal injury law claims for over 30 years and can guide you through the process as painlessly as possible. Contact us today at 512-474-4487 or reach out to our lawyers online to get started.